Members Login

We will soon be updating this website with a new one.

To make this change this site will not be available from the 1 of July but will be back by the 4 of July.


findmypast  Special Offer   

Read more: findmypast Special Offer


Using Coroners' and Fire Inquests for local and family history Talk

See details: Using Coroners' and Fire Inquests for local and family history


Scots on the move: internal and external migration  Seminar      

See details: Saturday 30 July - Scots on the move: internal and external migration


Preservation of photographs, books and paper-based items Talk  

See details: Thursday July 14 or 21 - Melbourne Rare Book Week Events


National Family History Month at the GSV  

See details: August - NFHM 2016


The Genealogical Society of Victoria

Tracing your family tree is one of the world's most popular pastimes. The Genealogical Society of Victoria is a leading Australian family history society for the study of genealogy with a wide range of membership benefits.

We can provide advice and expertise along with a reference library providing extensive records for Victoria, Australia, New Zealand and Britain, as well as many collections from other countries.

Our secure online shop includes membership, society services, events at the GSV as well as a wide range of genealogical products.

ancestry.....findmypast

Upcoming Events

Tue 28 Jun 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
findmypast™ & other commercial databases online
Tue 05 Jul 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
The National Archives (UK) online
Wed 06 Jul 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
Starting Family History
Wed 06 Jul 16 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
GSV Writers Circle
Thu 07 Jul 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
FamilySearch™ online
Fri 08 Jul 16 @ 12.30PM- 02.00PM
South West England Research & Discussion Circle
Sat 09 Jul 16 @ 10.30AM- 11.30AM
Genealogy into History- how can you turn a well-researched genealogy into a readable family history? - Professor Graeme Davison
Tue 12 Jul 16 @ 12.30PM- 01.30PM
Durham, Northumberland & Cumberland Discussion Circle
Tue 12 Jul 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Australian BDM indexes via Digger ™ and online
Wed 13 Jul 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.00PM
DNA Discussion Circle
Thu 14 Jul 16 @ 12.00PM- 01.00PM
Preservation of photographs, books and paper-based items - Debra Parry
Thu 14 Jul 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
GSV library catalogue & databases - tips
Sat 16 Jul 16 @ 10.30AM- 12.30PM
Orientation Morning - Introduction to the Society and Research Basics
Tue 19 Jul 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
Ancestry™ online
Wed 20 Jul 16 @ 01.30PM- 02.30PM
National Archives for Scotland, Ireland & Wales online